Hit Enter to search or Esc key to close
Blog thumbnail



Blog thumbnail


To encourage excellence in the promotion of Durban as a key tourism destination, eThekwini Deputy Mayor elect Councillor Diana Hoorzuk launched the inaugural Durban Tourism Awards at the Oyster Box today, 12 October.

The awards, which will be hosted in May 2022, will reward quality products in the tourism industry value chain which instills confidence in travelers by demonstrating the City’s high standard of tourism products.

The launch marks the beginning of a series of roadshows and public relations promotions to raise awareness of tourism businesses in Durban. The roadshows will also encourage the public to nominate potential entries.

Nominations will be open from November until February 2022. This will allow judges ample time for the adjudication process.  

Councillor Hoorzuk said: “We are looking for outstanding products who have achieved notable success since starting. We are looking for products that attracts visitors to the City that havecreated job opportunities and have mobilised visitors to Durban. Most importantly, we are looking for businesses that have stood the test of time and have weathered the Covid-19pandemic.

The awards have 10 categories including:

Upcoming Film-Makers Award
Service Excellence Award for Meeting, Exhibitions and Special Events Venues
Service Excellence Award for Accommodation
Service Excellence Award for Tourist Guides
Service Excellence Award for Tour Operators
Service Excellence Award for Rickshaw Pullers
Visitor Experience Award
Sustainable Development Award,
Entrepreneurship Award,
Special Achievement Award

An esteemed independent panel of judges, that includes tourism business leaders, was announced at the launch. They include Lindiwe Rakharebe, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Inkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre, John Aritho,Chairman of the Tourism Chapter at the Durban Chamber of Commerce, CEO of Tourism KwaZulu-Natal Phindile Makwakwa Ndabo Khoza, CEO of uShaka Marine World, Romy Wenzel of Saphire Coast Tourism and Paul Paine from 1000 Hills Tourism.

Councillor Hoorzuk said the awards are only for private sector initiatives and government entities are exempt from participating.

“The judges will look into the consumer reviews about the product, which constitutes80 percent of the process,” she said.

All nominees must be CTO accredited and as part of the process, the various tourism products will be visited by the panelists for site inspections to ensure compliance.

Nomination forms will be available online and in print on the Durban Tourism website,social media platforms and at all Durban Tourism satellite information offices.

Entrants stand a chance of winning R30 000 and other prizes that will assist with thesustainability of the business.


Issued by eThekwini Municipality’s Communication Unit. For more information, contact Municipal Spokesman Msawakhe Mayisela on 060 966 4220.